Board of Supervisors

The Code of Virginia provides that each county be governed by a board of supervisors, which is elected by the qualified voters. The Board of Supervisors of Albemarle County is composed of six members, one from each magisterial district. Supervisors are elected for four-year terms which are staggered at two-year intervals. The election of supervisors is held as a part of the State's general election in November of odd-numbered years.  At the first meeting of the year, the Board organizes itself and selects one of its members to serve as chairman and another to serve as vice-chairman.

For 2015 the Chair is Jane D. Dittmar and the Vice – Chair is Liz A. Palmer.

Ken Boyd, Diantha McKeel, Jane Dittmar, Ann Mallek, Liz Palmer and Brad Sheffield 

Ken Boyd, Diantha McKeel, Jane Dittmar, Ann Mallek, Liz Palmer and Brad Sheffield

Regularly scheduled meetings of the Board of Supervisors are held in the Lane Auditorium, Second Floor, County Office Building. The meeting schedule is as follows:  

  • The first Wednesday of each month beginning at 1 pm. The public can provide comments at the start of the meeting at 1 pm and again at 7pm.
  • A regular work session at 5pm on the Tuesday after the first monthly meeting with a public comment period for matters related to the work session topic at 5 pm and again at 7 pm.
  • The third meeting of each month, held on the second Wednesday, will begin at 4:00 pm for work sessions as necessary, with the regular meeting beginning at 6 pm with an opportunity for public comment at that time.

All meetings are open to the public. Click here to access the current board agenda and supporting documentation.

Listen LIVE to Board of Supervisors Meetings!

WATCH LIVE: Board of Supervisors Meetings!

Click here to sign up to speak at public hearings


*Click here for Comprehensive Plan Update*

Albemarle County Redistricting 2011 Information

Redistricting Ordinance

Overview Map

East Ivy/University Hall Precincts

Baker-Butler/Hollymead/Northside Precincts

Porters Precinct

Click here for more information...

Contact the Department
Board of Supervisors
401 McIntire Road
4th Floor
Charlottesville, VA 22902
FAX: 434-296-5800
Email the Department