Finance Home  |  Dog License
brown-horizontal-line

All dogs in Albemarle County must have a dog license after their first rabies shot. The license must be displayed on the dog’s collar at all times.

Albemarle county is very excited to bring you a new and simplified way to purchase dog licenses for your pets! Beginning November 1, 2019, PetData Inc, an outside company, will be managing the dog licensing process for all Albemarle County residents including license purchases and renewals. PetData Inc will handle mailings, customer service, record keeping, payment processing, and tag issuance. You may purchase licenses at any time through their online system or if you prefer, you can purchase licenses by mail. We are confident you will benefit from this easy-to-use-service to manage your dog licensing moving forward. You can reach PetData with any questions you have or to update your information by calling them at the number shown below.

Click HERE to purhcase a license, or to access a printable application.

·    PetData Phone: 1-833-991-0933


Dangerous Dogs Information  

If the court finds a dog to be a dangerous dog, the dog owner must obtain a dangerous dog registration certificate within 30 days after the finding. The cost of a dangerous dog registration certificate for initial registration is $150.00.The owner must update and renew a dangerous dog registration certificate by January 31 of each year, until the dangerous dog is deceased. The annual renewal fee is $85. The dog’s owner must provide the dog’s current rabies vaccination in order to obtain an initial and renewal certificate. 

Dangerous dog owners must ensure that:
- The dog is confined in a proper enclosure inside the owner’s residence or is muzzled and confined in the owner’s fenced-in yard until the proper enclosure is constructed.
- The dog has been permanently identified by means of electronic implantation. 
- The owner’s residence is posted with clearly visible signs warning both minors and adults of the presence of a dangerous dog on the property.
- The owner has liability insurance coverage, to the value of at least $100,000.00 that covers dog bites. The owner may obtain and maintain a bond in surety, in lieu of liability insurance, to the value of at least $100,000.00.
- The owner has affixed the tag to the dog’s collar and ensured that the dog wears the collar and tag at all times.
 
Dangerous dog registration information is posted on the Virginia Dangerous Dogs Registry. 

If your dog is missing call the SPCA at (434) 973-5959, or the Animal Control officer at (434) 977-9041 and file a lost dog report. (Your dog may have lost his/her collar and may have been taken to the SPCA).

Code of Virginia §3.2-6529 requires veterinarians to report to the Treasurer of the locality in which the veterinarian practices medicine all rabies vaccinations administered to dogs. Those vaccination records are reconciled with the County’s animal license records to determine which vaccinated dogs remain unlicensed.  

Failure to comply with the license requirement is a Class 4 misdemeanor.

For more information, please contact the Department of Finance at (434) 296-5851 option 4.