Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Solid Waste Alternatives Advisory Committee (SWAAC) 
Introduction/Overview/Duties The Albemarle County Solid Waste Alternatives Advisory Committee (SWAAC) is a standing advisory committee to the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors. The establishment of this Committee is consistent with the County’s Comprehensive Plan, the organizational vision of Albemarle County, and the regional Thomas Jefferson Solid Waste Management Plan. The Committee will provide information to the Board in a semi-annual update and an annual report to include a thorough budgetary and environmental impact analysis of the Committee’s recommended policy implementation. 
Length of Term Initial appointments will include two four-year appointments two three-year appointments and two two-year appointments. Thereafter, appointments will be for four years. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings Meetings will be held approximately once per month or as otherwise agreed to by the Committee. 
Membership The SWAAC will consist of six to eight voting members appointed by the Board of Supervisors with appropriate background and experience. Appointments will be based on Board and staff recommendations, nominations from community and business groups, and individual applications. Members will be added to this Committee through the normal Board appointment process. All members of the Committee, regardless of background or area of expertise, shall be supportive of the sustainable materials management objectives and strategies the County has adopted in its Comprehensive Plan. The Committee’s role shall be to support, expand on, and implement the policy and goals of the program.

The Committee shall include:

• The Chief of Environmental Services Division, Facilities and Environmental Services
• One representative from the Rivanna Solid Waste Authority (RSWA)
• One Professional Engineer and/or technical expert in any Solid Waste Management related field
• Two representatives with solid waste management industry interest/experience and
• One to three Albemarle County resident(s) with interest in sustainable materials management

In addition, the Board shall appoint two members of the Board of Supervisors to serve as liaisons. 
Qualifications No information available at this time 
County Members/Term Expiration Peggy Gilges, Term Expires 5/31/2020
Paul Grady, Term Expires 5/31/2020
Jesse Warren, Term Expires 5/31/2019
Anne Johnson, Term Expires 5/31/2023
Charles Riegle, Term Expires 5/31/2022
Lesley Hamilton, Term Expires 5/31/2022
Margaret Eldridge, Term Expires 5/31/2019
VACANT, Term Expires 5/31/2023
Liz Palmer, Board Liaison, Term Expires 12/31/2019
Norman Dill, Term Expires 12/31/2019
Andy Lowe, Environmental Compliance Manager 
Web site for more information N/A 
Comments cc: Andy Lowe 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page