Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name James River Alcohol Safety Action Program 
Introduction/Overview/Duties The James River ASAP Policy Board is responsible for operation of the Program within the participating localities, for hiring and supervising an Executive Director who shall be responsible for implementing operational policies, for approving a fiscal year operational budget prepared by the Executive Director, for an annual report prepared by the Executive Director to include program activities and financial status, for reviewing an annual audit to be conducted at the end of each fiscal year, and for operation of the program in conformity with policies and procedures established by the Commission. 
Length of Term Each member serves a term of three years. Members may be reappointed. They are not paid for their service. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings Quarterly meetings usually in January, April, July and October. Other special meetings may be called as necessary. Most meetings are dinner meetings. 
Membership There are 15 members: six chosen by the Board of Supervisors of the various areas they represent (Albemarle, Fluvanna, Greene, Louisa, Nelson and the city of Charlottesville) and nine at-large members chosen by the first six members. 
Qualifications Interest in and knowledge of transportation safety issues (particularly those issues involving use of alcohol or other drugs), interest in and knowledge of law enforcement issues (particularly those involving driving under the influence), interest in and knowledge of substance use and abuse issues, interest in and knowledge of laws involving DUI and other similar offenses, interest in and knowledge of Alcohol Safety Action Program issues, interest in and knowledge of administration and financial issues, particularly as they apply to operation of a non-profit agency. 
County Members/Term Expiration Steve Sellers, Chief of Albemarle Police - Term Expires 01/01/2019 
Web site for more information N/A 
Comments Dave Dutcher, Executive Director
James River Alcohol Safety Action Program
310 Avon Street, Suite 15
Charlottesville, VA 22902-5750

County Attorney
Commonwealth’s Attorney 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page