Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Planning Commission 
Introduction/Overview/Duties Promote the orderly development of Albemarle County and its environment. Serve primarily in an advisory capacity to the Board of County Supervisors in accomplishing the objectives of Section 15.2-2210 of the Code of Virginia. This Commission also serves to improve public health, safety, convenience and welfare of County citizens and to plan for the future development of the County to the end that transportation systems be carefully planned, that new community centers be developed with adequate highway, utility, health, educational, and recreational facilities, that the needs of agriculture, industry and business be recognized in future growth, that residential areas be provided with healthy surroundings for family life, that agricultural and forestal land be preserved, and that the growth of the community be consonant with the efficient and economical use of public funds. 
Length of Term Four year terms beginning January 1 and ending December 31 for magisterial appointments
and an at-large member who serves two years. One person shall be nominated from each of the six magisterial districts by the board member representing that district and one person shall be nominated to serve at-large. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings Most Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m. in Meeting Room 241 Second Floor County Office Building McIntire Road. 
Membership There is no limit to the number of terms a member may serve. Members with the exception of the non-voting member from the University of Virginia are paid $4100 for their services per annum to be paid in monthly installments. The chairman shall receive an additional $1500 per annum to be paid in monthly installments. Members must file annual "Conflict of Interests" statements. 
Qualifications Members shall be qualified by knowledge and experience to make decisions on questions of community growth and development. At least one-half of the members must be freeholders. 
County Members/Term Expiration Karen Firehock - Samuel Miller - Term Expires 12/31/2021
A. Bruce Dotson - Rio - Term Expires 12/31/2021
J. Timothy Keller, Chair - At-Large - Term Expires 12/31/2019
Daphne Spain - Rivanna - Term Expires 12/31/2019
Julin Bivins- Jack Jouett - Term Expires 12/31/2021
Pam Riley, Vice Chair - Scottsville - Term Expires 12/31/2019
Jennie More - White Hall - Term Expires 12/31/2019
UVA Liaison - Bill Palmer - Term Expires 12/31/2018 
Web site for more information www.albemarle.org/department.asp?department=cdd&relpage=4142 
Comments c of appointment letter to:

Andrew Gast-Bray
County Attorney
Commonwealth's Attorney
Get special letter when appointed. 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page