Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Jefferson Area Disability Service Board 
Introduction/Overview/Duties Albemarle County is required to have a Regional Disability Services Board as set forth by the Virginia General Assembly. The Board may be a local or regional board and serves the needs of the locality and its citizens. The Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission is a sponsor of the Regional Disability Services Board and provides staff assistance. This Board is to fulfill the duties and responsibilities as set forth in Virginia Code Section 51.5-48. 
Length of Term Government representatives serve until replaced. Citizen representatives serve for three year terms and can be reappointed. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings Meeting dates and times are bi-monthly at the convenience of the Board, typically the 2nd Monday of the month from 2:30 to 4:00 p.m. at the Independence Resource Center, 815 Cherry Avenue. 
Membership The Board will be appointed by the local governments up to a number not to exceed fifteen. Membership shall include at least one local official from each of the participating jurisdictions, two representatives of the business community and consumers. At least thirty percent of the representatives will be either individuals or family members of individuals with physical, visual or hearing disabilities. Representatives to the Board will be allocated based on the locality's percentage of the regional population with disabilities as defined by the 2000 Census and which results in the following
Albemarle, three
Charlottesville, three
Fluvanna, one
Greene, one
Louisa, two
and Nelson, two. The Independence Resource Center also has a seat on the Board. 
Qualifications A willingness to actively participate, an interest in and knowledge of the needs of persons with disabilities, community service ability and willingness to network, an interest in and knowledge of government, business and community concerns, expertise and/or experience in representing constituent concerns, and a willingness to seek advice or more information, if appropriate, when issues are presented. 
County Members/Term Expiration John Donohue, Term Expires 6/30/2016
Michael Peoples, Term Expires 6/30/2016
Kirsten Miles, Term Expires 6/30/2016
Erika Castillo, Government Representative 
Web site for more information N/A 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page