Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Rivanna Solid Waste Authority Citizens Advisory Committee 
Introduction/Overview/Duties Advises the Board of Directors of the Rivanna Solid Waste Authority on all matters pertaining to solid waste disposal and use, including recycling, energy generation and other alternative uses. The Board of Directors of the Authority shall give significant weight to recommendations made by the Advisory Committee. 
Length of Term Two calendar years. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings This board meets the second Tuesday every other month at 12 noon in the Rivanna Solid Waste Authority Office, 695 Moores Creek Lane. 
Membership The Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Board of Supervisors and the Mayor and Vice Mayor of the City shall nominate a Chairman for the Board of Directors of RSWA and for the Chairman of the Advisory Committee. Election shall be by the governing body. Initially, three members, one each by the City, County and University, shall be appointed for a one-year term and the remaining five for a two-year term. Thereafter, all members will serve terms which shall be for two calendar years. The term of the Chairman shall be concurrent with the term of the Chairman of the Board of Directors. All members shall be eligible for one reappointment for a second term. Members shall serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed by the Authority for any actual cost incurred in connections with their duties. 
Qualifications Three members are appointed by the City.
Three members are appointed by the County.
Two members are appointed by the University of Virginia.
The ninth member is to be the Chairman and is jointly appointed by the City and County. 
County Members/Term Expiration Dr. Leo Mallek, Chair, County/City Joint Appointee, Term Expires 12/31/2014
Steven James, Term Expires 12/31/2015
William Hines, Term Expires 12/31/2014
Richard Randolph, Term Expires 12/31/2015 
Web site for more information N/A 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page