Home >>


Take a minute to share your thoughts about Albemarle County Boards and Commissions

Board/Commission Name Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission 
Introduction/Overview/Duties The Thomas Jefferson Planning District Commission is organized to encourage planning for the physical, social and economic development of the region, to provide local governments assistance in planning and coordination, and to develop regional solutions to shared problems. Presently the ten member staff provides specific professional assistance in the areas of land and water resource use, criminal justice, human resources, manpower and administrative management 
Length of Term Members from the governing bodies serve a term coincident with their term in office, members from the general public serve a term of three years. 
Frequency/Times for Meetings First Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at TJPDC offices, 401 East Water Street. 
Membership The Commission consists of 12 members: two from the City, two from Albemarle County, two each from Greene, Nelson, Fluvanna, and Louisa Counties. At least 51 percent of the members must be elected officials. 
Qualifications Interest in regional cooperation. 
County Members/Term Expiration Rick Randolph - Term Expires 12/31/2017
Brad Sheffield - Term Expires 12/31/2017
Web site for more information N/A 

Return to Boards & Commissions Page

Return to Board of Supervisors Page