Albemarle County Electoral Board

Virtual and In Person Meeting

October 7, 2021

Location: Albemarle County Office Building, 5th Street

Attendance: Jim Heilman, Michael Rodemeyer, Peter Wurzer, Jake Washburne, Erin Davis, Lauren Eddy, Jeania Oliver, and Anne Schermerhorn

Observers who spoke: Abigail Turner, Albemarle Democratic Party; Randy Zackrisson, write-in candidate The meeting began at 9:06 am.

Peter made the following statement: This meeting is being held pursuant to and in compliance with the Continuity of Government Ordinance adopted by the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors. The following individuals are physically and electronically present: (Anne, Jeania, Abigail, and Randy were electronically present; all others were physically present.)

The agenda was unanimously adopted. The minutes for September 15 were unanimously approved.

Early Voting Update. Jake said that about 2,400 voters have voted in person and about 5,000 mail ballots have been sent out. He then discussed a mail ballot mix-up that has occurred in the 25th House District, which includes Crozet, Brownsville, and Mechums River precincts. At least four voters in those districts received ballot style 007 which has the 58th House District race instead of ballot style 009 which has the 25th House District race. He suggested that when we do the first mail ballot pre-processing this afternoon, we first check the 159 ballots {ed. note – later known to be 161} we have received from the three affected precincts. Discussion ensued. He noted that 726 ballots have been mailed to the affected precincts so far and that, beginning on October 4 staff have been unfolding and checking the ballot style on each ballot – rather than relying on the labels the printer put on each pack – before it is sent out. Solutions to the problem were discussed. Abigail opined that we should alert the public to the problem even if the number of incorrect ballots appears to be fairly low. She also asked that information on this problem be shared with the political parties.

<u>Election Officer Training for November.</u> We briefly discussed the Chief Election Officer training that we conducted yesterday. Anne gave a report on progress with on-line training materials.

<u>Write-in Candidacy.</u> The write-in candidacy of one Randy Zackrisson for the Samuel Miller District School Board seat was discussed. Jim provided a list of possible misspellings of his name, and the Board discussed which ones should be accepted as a vote for the write-in candidate and which ones should not be accepted. Mr. Zackrisson discussed the ways his name is often misspelled and thanked the Board for its due diligence on developing a list in advance of the election.

Executive Session. Michael moved the following: RESOLVED, that the Board enter into executive session for the purpose of discussion and consideration of the appointment, assignment and performance of one or more current and prospective Albemarle County election officers for the election cycle that begins on March 1, 2021, as provided by Section 2.2-3711.A.1 of the Code of Virginia. The motion passed unanimously. The Board went into Executive Session at 10:08 am.

The Board came out of Executive Session at 10:36 am. (Only staff and Board members participated in the Executive Session.) Michael moved the following: RESOLVED, that to the best knowledge of each member of this Board (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirements of Chapter 37 (Virginia Freedom of Information Act) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) only such public business matters as were identified in the motion by which today's executive session was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the executive session. The motion passed unanimously.

Jim moved the appointment of 9 new election officers of Albemarle County for a period of one year beginning March 1, 2021. The motion passed unanimously. Their names will be attached to these minutes.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 am.

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Heilman Secretary, Albemarle County Electoral Board