## Albemarle County Electoral Board

## Virtual and Regular Meeting

## June 9, 2020

Location: Albemarle County Office Building, 5<sup>th</sup> Street Attendance: Jim Heilman, Michael Rodemeyer, Peter Wurzer, Jake Washburne, Clarice Schermerhorn, and Lauren Eddy Guests: Abigail Turner, Kerin Yates

The meeting convened at 9:10 am.

Peter made the following statement: This meeting is being held pursuant to and in compliance with the Continuity of Government Ordinance adopted by the Albemarle County Board of Supervisors. The following individuals are physically and electronically present: (*Michael Rodemeyer, Abigail Turner and Kerin Yates electronically present. All others physically present.*)

The agenda was unanimously adopted. The minutes for May 27 were unanimously approved.

<u>Remarks from Abigail Turner</u>. Abigail requested that there be one more media blitz about all voters being able to vote absentee by mail for the June 23 Primaries. She also requested that there be public education about how the polling on June 23 will be conducted in light of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

<u>Absentee Voting.</u> Jake announced that, as of Monday morning, staff had processed 6,800 requests for absentee ballots. Peter asked if we have enough ballots; the answer was yes. Kerin mentioned the confusion for some voters due to the "Certificate of Mailing Required" statement on the outer envelope that is sent to absentee voters. She was informed that this is required of the office when mailing the ballots, not the voters when mailing them back in.

<u>May 19 Scottsville Town Election Tie.</u> By their new Town Charter, the top three vote-getters for Town Council are to receive 4-year terms and the next three top vote-getters, 2-year terms. There being a tie for the third place, a drawing of lots to determine the third-place councilor was held, pursuant to Virginia Code 24.2-674. The names of the tie vote-getters were put on slips of paper which were then put in a bowl. Peter drew out one slip (for the person to get the 4-year term). The name drawn was Edward Payne. Thus, he receives a 4-year term and Stuart Munson receives a 2-year term.

<u>June 23 Primary Training</u>. Several training videos (for election officers) produced by the staff were reviewed. They were deemed to be excellent. Several items in our Pandemic Election Plan for June 23 were reviewed and modified. It was decided that there will be two Zoom (electronic) training sessions for Chief Officers and Assistant Chief Officers – on at 3:30 pm on June 17 and one at 6 pm on the same day. Items to be covered in these training sessions were discussed.

<u>County Employees to work as Election Officers.</u> To a question, Clarice announced that three County employees have offered to work as election officers on June 23.

<u>Emergency Polling Place Change for Northside Precinct.</u> Due to the refusal of the Earlysville Volunteer Fire Department to allow voting to go on June 23 in their meeting hall, Jim made the motion, under emergency procedures as provided for in Code of Virginia 24.2-310.D, to move the voting on June 23 for all voters in the Northside Precinct to Laurel Hill Baptist Church, 3595 Grand Forks Blvd., which fronts on Airport Road. The motion passed unanimously. Jake announced that postcards announcing the emergency change are going to all Northside Precinct voters, and that he will be notifying all candidates on the ballot for June 23. He also plans to do some public education.

Other Matters.

- Partial pre-processing of absentee ballots was discussed. Clarice believes that we should probably not do this for the June 23 Primaries.
- Responses from election officers to our Draft Pandemic Election Plan were discussed.
- Peter asked if we have enough COVID-19-related supplies for June 23. Clarice and Lauren went over what we have or have on order. Peter expressed concern as to whether we have enough one-use-only pens for marking ballots.
- Jake has asked for a Medical Service Corps volunteer for June 23 to oversee proper sanitation of polling places.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:05 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Janno M Nulu

James M. Heilman Secretary, Albemarle County Electoral Board